Small disturbances to a serious domestic altercation can all comprise Domestic Violence. No matter how big or small the physical violence is, there is a corresponding criminal charge that comes with it. The allegations and the evidence presented by the complaining party can determine whether Felony charges are filed or whether a reduced Misdemeanor charge is filed.
What are the Consequences of a Domestic Violence conviction?
A Felony domestic violence conviction carries a potential sentence of two, three, or four years in State Prison and a statutory requirement of completion of a 52 week domestic batterer’s counseling program.
A Misdemeanor domestic violence conviction carries a potential sentence of up to 1 year in County Jail, a fine of up to $6,000.00, and a requirement of completion of a 52 week domestic batterer’s counseling program.
It is also important to be aware that a Domestic Violence conviction (either as s Felony or a Misdemeanor), will both take away your right to own or possess a firearm and ammunition for the rest of your life.
Domestic Violence charges in California are to be taken seriously. The State of California is very strict when it comes to domestic abuse and as soon as a police report is filed and law enforcement is involved, it is almost an unfortunate certainty that the accused will be arrested, regardless of how minor the alleged incident may have been. Once an individual is accused of Domestic Violence, extensive efforts must be taken in an effort to keep the Domestic Violence charge off the accused’s criminal record and keep the accused out of Jail. This is why it is necessary that a Criminal Defense Attorney be contacted immediately upon an individual’s arrest and Prosecution for such a criminal charge.
Feel free to call us now to consult with us if you have any questions or concerns regarding such a case.